Expedia Customer Support is garbage.

Expedia Customer Support is garbage.

If you find a good deal through Expedia that’s cool. But be warned, if you have any issue that requires their support you may find yourself very disappointed.

I made the mistake of buying a couple plane tickets I realized needed changed. I contacted the airline and they had a policy that allowed tickets to be fully refunded within 24 hours, and were also happy to make the requested changed.

All good. However they could not because the tickets had been purchased through Expedia and as my travel agent they directed me to speak with them.

And for the record Expedia states their policy is they will defer to the policy of the airline.

“We understand that sometimes plans change. We do not charge a cancel or change fee. When the airline charges such fees in accordance with its own policies, the cost will be passed on to you.”

I called Expedia’s support line, explained the issue, and then was put on hold while they tried to call the airline. After waiting a while I was advised the airline (that I’d just spoken with) weren’t answering the phone.

Okay.. A little odd..

I was advised that “offline support” would take over resolving my case and I should expect to hear back from them within 24 hours.

I never heard back from them.

I sent Expedia two messages requesting an update and support for my case.

I submitted the form to escalate the issue, providing all the info and trying to get some attention.

We’ll review it and contact you within 72 hours.

I never heard back from anyone at Expedia. I have no idea if they tried anything but they certainly never tried to assist me.

We bought a second pair of plane tickets from another airline directly and had to abandon our other flight. Complete waste of money.

Do not waste your time with Expedia. You’ll be far better off going directly to the airlines and hotels. It may be a bit more work to research, but the cost is the same if not better. And most importantly you’ll undoubtedly have customer service that actually tries to help you.

Expedia didn’t just fail us with poor customer service, they abandoned us altogether. We were their customer, we paid them for a product that could not be used. They completely disregarded their own policies.

There is no excuse for that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

